Dosimeters

Dosimeters are devices used to measure the amount of energy deposited by ionising radiation. This measurement is used to estimate the effective dose received by the human body through exposure to external ionising radiation. Doses received following internal exposure from incorporation of radioactivity are not assessed by these dosimeters but if necessary determined through other methods.

The different types of dosimeter and systems used at CERN are:

  • Personal dosimeter (DIS-1 + CR39)
  • Operational dosimeter (DMC2000 or DMC3000)
  • Extremities dosimeter, usually for hands, feet or eyes

The personal dosimeter is mandatory for all workers occupationally exposed to ionising radiation, whilst the operational dosimeter is complementary and required only for certain areas or activities. Extremity dosimeters are worn if required by the Radiation Protection Group, usually when high local doses to the extremities or eyes can be expected.

Personal dosimeter

You will require a personal dosimeter (DIS) as soon as you need to work in a Radiation Area. This dosimeter is personal and not transferable.

The personal dosimeter is sometimes referred to as: legal dosimeter, passive dosimeter, individual or DIS dosimeter. In the past, when a different technology was used, this dosimeter was called a 'film badge'.

The personal dosimeter actually includes two dosimeters: one to measure gamma and beta radiation (DIS-1) and a second one to measure neutron radiation (CR39).

When you read your dosimeter at one of the dosimeter reader stations, only the gamma/beta dosimeter readout value will be shown. The neutron dosimeter is evaluated on the annual exchange of the dosimeter. The complete result of gamma/beta and neutron dose will be displayed on your official records after evaluation and validation by the Dosimetry Service.

Operational dosimeter

The operational dosimeter is required, in addition to your personal dosimeter, for working in Limited Stay and High Radiation Controlled Radiation Areas. For specific activities or for optimisation purposes, the Radiation Protection Group can also recommend using these dosimeters outside these areas.

The operational dosimeter is sometimes referred to as: active dosimeter, electronic dosimeter or DMC.

The operational dosimeter features a direct dose display, audible indication of the radiation level and alarm functions when thresholds for dose or dose rates are exceeded.

It can either be assigned permanently to a person or can be used in 'pool' mode. For the latter, the dosimeter is not assigned to a specific person and can be shared amongst colleagues. It will be attributed to the user by the reader station when switching it to ON.

Extremity dosimeters

The Dosimetry Service provides extremity dosimeters when necessary for working in areas where higher doses to the extremities (hands, feet) and/or eyes are likely.  The Radiation Protection Group determines whether it is necessary to wear an extremity dosimeter.  A typical extremity dosimeter would be a finger ring integrating a thermoluminescence-based detector.

You are here

Dosimètres

Les dosimètres sont des appareils que l’on utilise pour mesurer la quantité d’énergie déposé par les rayonnements ionisants. Cette mesure permet d’estimer la dose effective que le corps humain reçoit lors d’une exposition externe au rayonnement ionisantLes doses reçues à la suite d’expositions internes par incorporation de la radioactivité ne sont pas détectées par le dosimètre, mais si nécessaire, elles peuvent être evalués pas d’autres moyens.

Les différents types de dosimètres utilisés au CERN sont

  • Le dosimètre personnel (DIS-1 + CR39)
  • Le dosimètre opérationnel (DMC 2000 ou DMC 3000)
  • Les dosimètres d’extrémités pour mains, pieds ou yeux.

Le dosimètre personnel est obligatoire pour toute personne exposée aux rayonnements ionisant. Alors que le dosimètre opérationnel est complémentaire et uniquement nécessaire dans certaines zones ou pour certaines activités. Les dosimètres (pour) extrémités se portent sur demande du groupe de radioprotection. Ils sont généralement recommandés lorsqu'une forte dose est attendue à des membres extérieurs (mains, pieds) ou des yeux.

Dosimètre personnel

L’utilisation du dosimètre personnel est obligatoire dès que vous travaillez dans une zone règlementée. Ce dosimètre est personnel est ne peut être prêté ou utilisé par d’autre personne.

Le dosimètre personnel est quelque fois appelé: dosimètre légal, dosimètre passif, dosimètre individuel ou DIS. Autrefois les dosimètres était appelé "film badge".

Le dosimètre personnel comporte en réalité deux dosimètres: Le DIS-1 qui mesure les rayonnements gamma et beta et le CR39 qui mesure les rayonnements neutrons.

Lors de la lecture du dosimètre sur une station de lecture seules les valeurs du rayonnement gamma et du rayonnement beta sont relevées. Les valeurs du dosimétre neutron sont calculées annuellement lors de l’échange du dosimètre. La totalité des résultats gamma/beta/neutron sera affichée sur le registre officiel après évaluation et validation du service de dosimétrie.

Dosimètre operationnel

Le dosimètre opérationnel est requis en plus du dosimètre personnel, pour travailler en zones à séjour limité ou à hautes radiations. Le groupe de radioprotection peut aussi recommander le port du dosimètre opérationnel hors de ces zones.

Le dosimètre opérationnel est aussi appelé: dosimètre actif, dosimètre électronique ou DMC.

Il affiche la dose directement sur l’écran (en temps réel) et emettera ainsi qu’une indication auditive selon le niveau de rayonnement ou en cas de dépassement de seuils prédefinis. 

Le dosimètre opérationnel peut être attribué de façon permanente à une personne, ou il peut être utilisé en mode "pool". Pour ce dernier, le dosimètre peut être partagé parmi les membres d’une même équipe. Il sera attribué à un utilisateur lors de la mise en route de l’appareil dans un lecteur de dosimétre operationnel.

Dosimètres d’extrémité

Le service de dosimétrie fournit des dosimètres d’extrémité, pour l'utilisation dans des situations à hautes expositions des extrémités telles que les mains, les pieds et les yeux. C’est le groupe de radioprotection qui détermine si l’utilisation s'imposera.

Un dosimètre d’extrémité type est une bague incorporant un détecteur de thermoluminescence. Ce dosimètre a typiquement une limite de détection de 0.2-0.3 mSv. Le seuil de notification est de 0.5 mSv.

You are here